fbpx
Portes des Iris
jennifer nicolas 826 feux dartifice william gammuto2 994x520 - FAQ - All the questions you've always wanted to ask us, but perhaps never dared?

FAQ – All the questions you’ve always wanted to ask us, but perhaps never dared?

So, have you just signed your contract at Portes des Iris, or are you ready to do so? You made the right choice and now you have a thousand questions running through your head… Here is a small selection of the ones we answer most regularly:

PREPARATIONS

What makes the difference with some other event venues is our expertise and support, at all organizational stages of your reception.

You first discovered us on our social networks (Instagram, Facebook, Linkedin), then perhaps via a virtual tour of our spaces on our website or through Facetime in times of pandemic? But the impressions you had during your first visit to the domain will surely remain forever engraved in your memories.

It is important to us to be at your side from the very first questions you ask; we send you a provisional estimate, then a contract and finally, after the first preparation visit (to which you can of course invite your witnesses, your parents and perhaps already some of the service providers you wish to hire for the occasion), we draw up a location plan for the spaces you will be using.

Table plan Dorianna room

The service providers you choose will also be welcomed and guided by us. We will make sure with them that all the details that we have decided together will be carried out during the preparation visits (either on site or by e-mail or videoconference). These will be summarized in a document accessible to all those who will be involved in your event (caterer, decorator, masters of ceremonies, wedding planner, etc…) and will serve as a guideline before, during and after your reception.

Event order Wedding

And that’s when all the details will have to be worked out, including…

SCHEDULE

How late can we party at Portes des Iris?

We are one of the only event venues in the region where you can party until 4 o’clock in the morning. And no need to make any special requests, we have the permission of our municipality.

From our experience, this schedule will allow you to end your evening on a joyful note without making it too long.

Is it possible to already start the decoration of our event the day before?

If the room(s) are available, with great pleasure (during office hours). But as nowadays we often have last-minute requests, it is only about 2 weeks before your reception that we can confirm this possibility.

portes des iris hangar courtyard3 300x225 - FAQ - All the questions you've always wanted to ask us, but perhaps never dared?
Pic by Marie Montibert

Can we deliver our wines the day before as well?

As for the previous question, yes, if the kitchens are available. Unfortunately, we do not have a cellar or storage place, especially in the middle of summer, it can be complicated.

It wouldn’t be nice if a caterer got the wrong wines and used yours the day before, would it?

When can we get our stuff back?

That also depends on what happens after your event. If it’s a Sunday, we all try to rest and we suggest that you come back on Monday morning to pick up your things (wine left overs, decorations, cots, etc…). Should we have an event afterwards, we always have small corners where we can store some things and you could come and get them later.

Some providers are also overloaded. Don’t hesitate to ask us if they can also come back on Monday morning.

PARKINGS

Can we leave cars in your parking lot overnight?

Yes, of course. We will let you know what time it should be released if we have another event that requires the entire car park.

Do you have enough parking space?

We have 4 car parks at the estate. Two of them are a few metres from the entrance to Portes des Iris and can accommodate 100 (car park I) and 60 cars (car park II) respectively. Even if we have several receptions at the same time, we can accommodate all vehicles.

Two other car parks with more than 200 spaces are available for coaches or for larger events at the entrance of our Gardens. Only 200m from Portes des Iris.

Are your car parks guarded?

No, they are not. However, we do organise assistance for the arrival of your guests. Depending on the number of cars, buses or other means of transportation (possibility of arriving by helicopter, horse or motorbike), our staff will direct your guests to the corresponding car parks.

However, our car parks are not guarded, nor are they equipped with a video system.

CLOAKROOMS

Are your cloakrooms guarded?

As for the car park, we have dedicated and trusted staff on arrival of guests at the cloakroom and who also take care of the cleanliness of the toilets during the event. This staff is included in our rates, if the number of guests exceeds 100, but can also be arranged if you have fewer guests, at a lower cost.

If our cloakrooms are not guarded, it means that you are alone in the building, there is in principle no risk of theft.

CATERERS

Do you have exclusive caterers?

Yes, to date we have 8 and you will find them on our website under the Caterers tab.

We also have many articles on our blog that describe each of them and that will allow you to get to know them better.

Do we have to choose among your exclusive caterers?

On your big day, you want the best for your guests and you don’t just cater for yourself! The house is big, the kitchens are professional kitchens and they require trained staff who know how to use them properly. It is important to us to have caterers who know our establishment, its rules, its procedures in case of fire, and above all who can close the building at the end of the reception. This is why we do not wish to make any exceptions and we would like you to choose from one of our 8 referenced caterers.

DECORATIONS

Who’s in charge of installing our decorations?

As coordinators, we are at your disposal so that you can be all to your happiness, to your preparations, to your guests. If you have for us a list of things to place on tables / buffets / table plans, etc., we will gladly take care of it. For more information, read our blog article related to the preparations.

Do you have imposed service providers for decoration?

No, we do not. It is important to us that you are satisfied and it is our pleasure to regularly update the names of local florists with whom we are used to work, who are familiar with the estate and who can quickly send you an offer. Simply ask us for a list of our florists/decorators and we will send it to you free of charge.

Can we throw rose petals at the end of our ceremony?

Yes, if they are synthetic petals and only inside our ceremony rooms (Apollo or Athena). We have shared other ideas in our blog article on ceremonial outings.

We love candles, are they allowed?

We agree to have them on dining tables, high tables, inside the fireplace (on saucers) or in closed lanterns / candleholders.

Illuminations in places at risk, i.e. on stairs, window sills, around the fountain and where children may have access, are not allowed.

Today’s led candles are also an alternative to real candles; the effects are almost as beautiful and the risks are much less!

HOTELS & TRANSPORTATION

Can we sleep on the estate?

We do not offer the possibility of accommodation on site. However, we have drawn up a list of nearby establishments with which we have negotiated rates for some of them. Don’t hesitate to ask us!

Do you have contacts for transportation?

The village of Vullierens is served by public transportation. As for accommodation, we also have a list of possibilities in the surroundings. It is at your disposal if you need it…

ENTERTAINMENT

Do you have fixed music providers? Photographers? And for video?

No, but nothing better than to surround yourself with quality music providers and there we have gained some experience over the years. Whether you want a gospel band for your ceremony, a duo to liven up your cocktail reception or a dj accompanied by a live saxophonist for your evening, we have something to satisfy you. Our passion: to share with you the best contacts in the region or further. We will gladly put you in touch with our partners!

Are Thai lanterns allowed?

In agreement with the commune of Vullierens, these lanterns are not allowed, because they are very dangerous at the time of their lighting, they are not biodegradable either and harm the flora and fauna in the surroundings.

Is it possible to use bengal / glittering lights inside the building?

In order to avoid any risk of fire, glittering or bengal fires are not allowed in our reception rooms, but only on our Terraces or Courtyards. The same goes for all candles placed on our staircases or in risky places. Our coordinators will be happy to tell you where you can use them.

portes des iris animation feux de bengale 1 - FAQ - All the questions you've always wanted to ask us, but perhaps never dared?

Pic by Alexandre Bourguet

My cousin’s a fireworks expert, is he allowed to set up our fireworks display?

The commune of Vullierens and the Canton of Vaud have been asking for a few years now for separate authorisations to fireworks. Only the official fireworksmen of Portes des Iris are authorized and the fireworks must be finished at the latest at 23h00.

CHILDREN

Do you provide babysitting services? Do you have ideas for children’s entertainment?

Children are welcome and in order to make sure that everyone enjoys their evening, we offer either baby-sitters (CHF 20.-/hour, provide a meal and return by taxi) or a complete entertainment service. Do not hesitate to ask us for offers and plan your baby-sitters in time, especially if during exams or school holidays 😉

Can children walk freely in the gardens of the castle?

Yes, as long as the parents agree. We decline all responsibility. There are some beautiful walks in our gardens; why not offer the baby-sitters a little tour of the Lizard King’s Kingdom with the children?

Is our dog accepted on the estate?

Our rental conditions do not allow pets inside the building. However, dogs are welcome outside if kept on leashes.

Can we arrive on horseback from the Gardens?

Yes, we have already experienced it several times. Horses can be sheltered under our barn before your guests, and you can arrive on our terraces from the bridle path. However, we ask you to respect the place and especially the possible visitors of our gardens during the opening periods.

Is it possible to organize entertainments with animals?

Of course it is! A circus evening without a snake dancer or bear trainer would not be a circus evening 😉

For a Swiss evening, Saint Bernard dogs are also welcome.

portes des iris animations animaux chiens suisse 1 768x1024 - FAQ - All the questions you've always wanted to ask us, but perhaps never dared?

Pic by Portes des Iris

And let’s not forget the youngest ones: for an event with children, we gladly organize pony rides, discovery workshops with rabbits and guinea pigs, etc…

portesdesiris petits animaux copie 768x1024 - FAQ - All the questions you've always wanted to ask us, but perhaps never dared?

Pic by Portes des Iris

This list of questions is of course not exhaustive and we are at your disposal if you have any other questions, and in order to complete ours afterwards as well 😉

Good preparation!

 

portes des iris animation poneys 1 - FAQ - All the questions you've always wanted to ask us, but perhaps never dared?

Pic by Tlook

Corinne Salvisberg Perrone, April 2020

fbpx
Portes des Iris
jennifer nicolas 826 feux dartifice william gammuto2 994x520 - FAQ - Toutes les questions que vous avez toujours souhaité nous poser, sans peut-être jamais oser?

FAQ – Toutes les questions que vous avez toujours souhaité nous poser, sans peut-être jamais oser?

Voilà, vous venez de signer votre contrat aux Portes des Iris ou vous êtes peut-être prêts à le faire? Vous avez fait le bon choix et vous avez maintenant mille questions qui trottent dans vos têtes… Voici donc une petite sélection de celles auxquelles nous répondons le plus régulièrement:

PREPARATIFS

Ce qui fait la différence avec certains autres lieux événementiels, c’est notre expertise et notre accompagnement, à tous les stades organisationnels de votre réception.

Vous nous avez tout d’abord découverts sur nos réseaux sociaux (Instagram, Facebook, Linkedin), puis peut-être via une visite virtuelle de nos espaces sur notre site Internet ou par Facetime en temps de pandémie? Mais les impressions que vous avez eues lors de votre première visite au domaine resteront sûrement à jamais gravées dans vos mémoires.

Il nous tient à coeur d’être à vos côtés dès vos premières questions; nous vous faisons parvenir un devis prévisionnel, puis un contrat et finalement, après la première visite de préparation (à laquelle vous pouvez bien sûr convier vos témoins, vos parents et déjà peut-être certains des prestataires que vous souhaitez engager pour l’occasion), nous établissons un plan d’implantation des espaces que vous utiliserez

Plan de tables salle Dorianna

Les prestataires que vous choisirez seront aussi accueillis et guidés par nous. Nous nous assurerons avec eux de la bonne réalisation de tous les détails que nous aurons décidés ensemble pendant les visites de préparation suivantes (soit sur place, soit par e-mail ou vidéoconférence). Ceux-ci seront résumées dans un document accessible à toutes les personnes qui graviteront autour de votre événement (traiteur, décorateur, majors de tables, wedding planner, etc…) et nous serviront de fil rouge avant, pendant et après votre réception

Event order Mariage

Et c’est là que tout plein de détails devront être réglés, notamment…

HORAIRES

Jusqu’à quelle heure peut-on faire la fête aux Portes des Iris?

Nous sommes un des seuls lieux événementiels de la région où vous avez la possibilité de festoyer jusqu’à 4 heures du matin. Et pas besoin de faire de demande particulière, nous en avons l’autorisation de notre commune.

De notre expérience, cet horaire vous permettra de terminer votre soirée sur une note joyeuse sans tirer en longueur.

Est-il possible de déjà commencer la décoration de notre événement la veille?

Si la/les salle(s) sont disponibles, avec grand plaisir (pendant les horaires de bureau). Mais comme de nos jours il nous arrive fréquemment d’avoir des demandes de dernière minute, ce n’est qu’environ 2 semaines avant votre réception que nous pourrons vous confirmer cette possibilité.

 

portes des iris hangar courtyard3 300x225 - FAQ - Toutes les questions que vous avez toujours souhaité nous poser, sans peut-être jamais oser?

Préparatifs de cérémonie sous le hangar – pic by Marie Montibert

Pouvons-nous livrer nos vins la veille également?

Comme pour la question précédente, oui, si les cuisines sont disponibles. Car nous n’avons malheureusement pas de cave ou de lieu de stockage assez frais, surtout en plein été.

Il ne serait pas agréable qu’un traiteur se trompe de vins et utilise les vôtres la veille, n’est-ce pas?

Quand pouvons-nous récupérer nos affaires?

C’est également en fonction des événements qui suivront le vôtre. Dans la mesure du possible, si c’est un dimanche, nous essayons tous de nous reposer et nous vous proposons de revenir le lundi matin, afin de récupérer vos affaires (solde de vins, décorations, lits bébés, etc…). Si nous devions avoir un événement à la suite, nous avons toujours des petits coins où nous pouvons stocker quelques affaires et vous pourriez venir les rechercher par la suite.

Certains prestataires sont également surchargés. N’hésitez pas à nous demander s’ils peuvent également revenir le lundi matin.

PARKINGS

Pouvons-nous laisser des voitures sur votre parking jusqu’au lendemain ?

Oui, bien entendu. Nous vous indiquerons le cas échéant l’heure à laquelle celui-ci devrait être libéré, si nous devions avoir un autre événement qui nécessiterait tout le parking.

Avez-vous du parking en suffisance ?

Nous avons 4 parkings au domaine. Deux d’entre eux sont à quelques mètres de l’entrée de Portes des Iris et peuvent accueillir 100 (parking I) et 60 voitures (parking II) respectivement. Même dans le cas où nous devrions avoir plusieurs réceptions en simultané, nous pouvons tout à fait accueillir tous les véhicules.

Deux autres parkings de plus de 200 places sont disponibles pour les autocars ou pour les grands événements, à l’entrée de nos Jardins. A seulement 200m de Portes des Iris.

Vos parkings sont-ils surveillés ?

Non, ils ne le sont pas. Nous organisons par contre de l’assistance à l’arrivée de vos invités. Selon le nombre de voitures, de bus ou autres moyens de transports (possibilité d’arriver en hélicoptère, à cheval ou en moto), notre staff dirigera vos invités dans les parkings correspondants.

Nos parkings ne sont cependant pas surveillés, ni munis de système vidéo.

VESTIAIRES

Vos vestiaires sont-ils surveillés ?

Comme pour le parking, nous avons du personnel attitré et de confiance à l’arrivée des invités au vestiaire et qui s’occupe également de la propreté des toilettes pendant l’événement. Ce personnel est inclus dans nos tarifs, si le nombre de convives dépasse 100 personnes, mais il peut être également organisé si vous êtes moins, à moindre frais.

Si nos vestiaires ne sont pas surveillés, c’est que vous êtes seuls dans le bâtiment, il n’y a en principe pas de risques de vols.

TRAITEURS

Est-ce que vous avez des traiteurs exclusifs ?

Oui, à ce jour nous en avons 8 et vous les trouverez sur notre site sous l’onglet Traiteurs.

Nous avons également de nombreux articles sur notre blog qui décrivent chacun d’entre eux et qui vous permettront de faire plus ample connaissance avec eux.

Devons-nous impérativement choisir parmi vos traiteurs exclusifs?

Lors de votre grand jour, vous souhaitez le meilleur pour vos invités et, comme nous le répétons à tous, on ne s’improvise pas traiteur! La maison est grande, les cuisines sont des cuisines professionnelles et elles nécessitent du personnel formé et qui sait s’en servir correctement. Il nous tient à cœur d’avoir des traiteurs qui connaissent notre établissement, ses règles, ses procédures en cas de feu, et surtout qui puisse fermer le Bâtiment en fin de réception. C’est pourquoi nous ne souhaitons pas faire d’exception et nous tenons à ce que vous choisissiez parmi l’un de nos 8 traiteurs référencés.

DECORATIONS

Qui s’occupe d’installer nos décorations ?

En tant que coordinatrices, nous sommes à votre disposition pour que vous soyez tout à votre bonheur, à vos préparatifs, à vos invités. Si vous nous préparez une liste des choses à placer sur tables / buffets / plans de tables, etc…, nous nous en occuperons volontiers. Pour plus d’informations, lisez notre article de blog liés aux préparatifs.

Avez-vous des prestataires imposés pour la décoration ?

Non aucun. Il nous tient à cœur de vous combler et c’est avec plaisir que nous mettons régulièrement à jour les noms des fleuristes de la région avec lesquels nous avons l’habitude de travailler, qui connaissent parfaitement le domaine et qui peuvent rapidement vous faire parvenir une offre. Demandez-nous simplement la liste de nos fleuristes/décorateurs et nous vous la ferons parvenir gratuitement.

Peut-on lancer des pétales de rose à la fin de notre cérémonie ?

Oui, si pour autant ce sont des pétales synthétiques et uniquement à l’intérieur de nos salles de cérémonie (Apollo ou Athena). Nous avons partagé d’autres idées dans notre article de blog sur les sorties de cérémonie.

Nous adorons les bougies, sont-elles autorisées ?

Nous sommes d’accord pour en avoir sur les tables de repas, les tables hautes, à l’intérieur de la cheminée (sur des soucoupes) ou dans des lanternes / photophores fermés.

Les illuminations aux endroits à risque, à savoir sur les escaliers, bords de fenêtres, autour de la fontaine et là où les enfants peuvent avoir accès, ne sont pas autorisées.

Les bougies leds de nos jours sont également une alternative à la vraie bougie; les effets sont presque aussi beaux et les risques bien moindres!

HOTELS & TRANSPORTS

Peut-on dormir au domaine ?

Nous n’offrons pas la possibilité d’hébergement sur place. Par contre, nous avons établi une liste d’établissements proches avec lesquels nous avons des tarifs négociés pour certains. N’hésitez pas à nous la demander !

Avez-vous des contacts pour les transports ?

Le village de Vullierens est desservi par transports publics. Comme pour les hébergements, nous avons aussi une liste des possibilités aux alentours. Elle est à votre disposition si besoin…

ANIMATIONS

Avez-vous des prestataires imposés pour la musique? La photo? La vidéo?

Non, mais rien de mieux que de s’entourer de prestataires musicaux de qualité et là, nous avons acquis une certaine expérience au fil des ans. Que vous souhaitiez un groupe de gospel pour votre cérémonie, un duo pour animer votre apéritif ou un dj accompagné d’un saxophoniste live pour votre soirée, nous avons de quoi vous satisfaire. Notre passion: partager avec vous les meilleurs contacts de la région ou plus loin. Nous vous mettrons volontiers en relation avec nos partenaires!

Est-ce que les lanternes thaïlandaises sont autorisées?

En accord avec la commune de Vullierens, ces lanternes ne sont pas autorisées, car très dangereuses au moment de leur allumage, elles ne sont pas non plus biodégradables et nuisent à la flore et à la faune aux alentours.

Peut-on utiliser des feux de bengale / scintillants, à l’intérieur du Bâtiment?

Afin d’éviter tout risque d’incendie, les scintillants ou feux de bengale ne sont pas autorisés dans nos salles de réception, mais uniquement sur nos Terrasses ou Cour. De même que pour toutes les bougies placées sur nos escaliers ou à des endroits risqués. Nos coordinatrices vous indiqueront volontiers les endroits où vous pouvez en utiliser.

portes des iris animation feux de bengale 1 - FAQ - Toutes les questions que vous avez toujours souhaité nous poser, sans peut-être jamais oser?

Pic by Alexandre Bourguet

Mon cousin est artificier, a-t-il le droit d’organiser notre feu d’artifices?

La commune de Vullierens et le Canton de Vaud demandent depuis quelques années des autorisations distinctes pour tirer un feu d’artifices. Seuls les artificiers officiels de Portes des Iris sont autorisés et les feux doivent impérativement être finis au plus tard à 23h00.

ENFANTS

Est-ce que vous organisez des services de baby-sitting? Avez-vous des idées d’animations pour les enfants?

Les enfants sont les bienvenus et afin que tout le monde profite de sa soirée, nous vous proposons soit des baby-sitters (CHF 20.-/heure, prévoir repas et retour en taxi), soit un service complet d’animations. N’hésitez pas à nous demander des offres et prévoyez à temps vos baby-sitters, si en période d’examens ou de vacances scolaires 😉

Les enfants peuvent-ils librement se promener dans les Jardins du Château?

Oui, pour autant que les parents soient d’accord. Nous déclinons toute responsabilité. Il existe de belles balades dans nos jardins; pourquoi ne pas proposer aux baby-sitters un petit tour du Royaume du Roi Lézard avec les enfants?

Est-ce que notre chien est accepté au domaine?

Nos conditions de location ne permettent pas les animaux à l’intérieur du Bâtiment. Cependant, les chiens peuvent volontiers être en extérieur, si tenus en laisses.

Peut-on arriver à cheval depuis les Jardins?

Oui, nous l’avons déjà vécu à plusieurs reprises. Les chevaux peuvent être abrités sous notre hangar avant l’arrivée de vos invités et vous pouvez arriver sur nos terrasses depuis l’allée cavalière. Nous vous prions néanmoins de respecter les lieux et surtout les éventuels visiteurs de nos jardins pendant les périodes d’ouverture de ceux-ci.

Est-ce possible d’organiser des animations avec des animaux?

Bien sûr! Une soirée cirque sans danseuse aux serpents ou dresseur d’ours ne serait pas une soirée cirque 😉

Pour une soirée suisse, les chiens Saint-Bernard sont aussi les bienvenus

portes des iris animations animaux chiens suisse 1 768x1024 - FAQ - Toutes les questions que vous avez toujours souhaité nous poser, sans peut-être jamais oser?

Pic by Portes des Iris

Et n’oublions pas les plus jeunes : pour un événement avec des enfants, nous organisons volontiers des balades à poneys, des ateliers découverte avec lapins et cochons d’inde, etc…

portesdesiris petits animaux copie 768x1024 - FAQ - Toutes les questions que vous avez toujours souhaité nous poser, sans peut-être jamais oser?

Cette liste de questions n’est bien sûr pas exhaustive et nous sommes à votre disposition si vous en avez d’autres, et afin de compléter la nôtre par la suite également 😉

Bons préparatifs!

portes des iris animation poneys 1 - FAQ - Toutes les questions que vous avez toujours souhaité nous poser, sans peut-être jamais oser?

Pic by Tlook

Corinne Salvisberg Perrone, Avril 2020